Louise Glück Is Awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

Share this:

The Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Louise Glück, the American poet, “for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal.”

The award was introduced on Thursday at a information convention in Stockholm.

Glück is the primary feminine poet to win the prize since Wislawa Szymborska, a Polish author, in 1996. Other poets to have acquired the award embrace Seamus Heaney, the Irish poet, who gained in 1995. She is the primary American to win since Bob Dylan in 2016.

Her 12 collections embrace “The Wild Iris” for which she gained a Pulitzer Prize in 1993, and “Faithful and Virtuous Night” from 2014. She was named the United States’ poet laureate in 2003.

Last yr, the academy was criticized after it awarded the prize to Peter Handke, an Austrian creator and playwright who has been accused of genocide denial for questioning occasions throughout the Balkan Wars of the 1990s — together with the Srebrenica bloodbath, by which about 8,000 Muslim males and boys had been murdered.

That furor got here a yr after the academy postponed the 2018 prize due to a scandal involving the husband of an academy member who was accused of sexual misconduct and of leaking info to bookmakers. That man, Jean-Claude Arnault, was later sentenced to 2 years in jail for rape.

Those occasions marked a low level for the prize, which dates to 1901 and has been awarded to a few of the world’s most influential and revered novelists, poets and playwrights. Prominent previous laureates embrace Toni Morrison, Kazuo Ishiguro, Alice Munro, Gabriel García Márquez, Saul Bellow and Albert Camus. In 1964, the academy selected Jean-Paul Sartre, who refused the consideration, saying that writers mustn’t settle for awards.

Given the current controversies, many observers anticipated this yr’s award to go to an uncontroversial alternative. “The Swedish Academy knows they can’t afford another scandal,” Bjorn Wiman, the tradition editor of the Swedish newspaper Dagens Nyheter, stated in a phone interview earlier than the announcement.

But an adviser to the prize-giving committee denied this in an electronic mail on Wednesday. “We haven’t focused on making a ‘safe’ pick or discussed the choice in such terms,” stated Rebecka Karde, a journalist and one among three exterior consultants who helped select this yr’s winner. “It’s all about the quality of the output of the writer who gets it.”

The Nobel Prize in Literature, which is given for a author’s complete physique of labor and is thought to be maybe probably the most prestigious literary award on this planet, comes with a prize of 10 million Swedish krona, or about $1.1 million.

This is a creating story. Please examine again for updates.

Source hyperlink

Comment here