SP fields 2 candidates in U.P. MLC polls

Share this:

The Samajwadi Party (SP) has fielded two veteran leaders as its candidates for the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council election, turning it right into a sizzling contest for the 12th seat.

Twelve seats have to be stuffed within the Council, however the SP by itself energy — it has 48 MLAs, together with Shivpal Yadav, the estranged uncle of get together chief Akhilesh Yadav — can safe just one. By nominating a second candidate, it has made it an open sport and would want the assist of MLAs from different smaller events and even its rival BSP.

SP nominated candidates Ahmad Hasan and Rajendra Chaudhary had been ministers when Mr. Yadav was the Chief Minister from 2012-2017. Mr. Hasan is an outgoing MLC. Mr. Chaudhary, a Jat with a socialist background, is a celebration spokesperson. Both are sometimes seen shadowing Mr. Yadav and have been near him in addition to his father Mulayam Singh Yadav.

The BJP has 309 MLAs, and mixed with the determine of its ally, the Apna Dal (Sonelal), its tally goes as much as 319. It can safe 10 out of the 12 MLC positions, whereas the SP is ready to win one. The BJP may problem for the 11th if it may well muster the assist of the BSP MLAs together with rebels in different events in addition to smaller events.

The 12th seat could be hotly contested, setting the stage for rebellions and altering configurations and alliances because the State heads towards polls in 2022.

The BSP has 18 MLAs on paper however a minimum of half-a-dozen of them have rebelled towards it in favour of the SP, bringing down its operative energy. However, all eyes could be on which method the BSP MLAs would swing, because the get together by itself can’t win any MLC seat, or if the get together would area a candidate and count on assist from the BJP, which might have a number of legislators to spare for the additional seat in case it fields solely 10.

Mayawati’s assertion

BSP chief Mayawati said in November that she would make sure the defeat of the SP candidate even when it meant she needed to vote for the BJP.

The Congress has seven MLAs, however two of them, together with Rae Bareli legislator Sadar Aditi Singh, have rebelled and usually spoken in assist of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

The Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party of Om Prakash Rajbhar, which was an ally of the BJP until 2019 however now a staunch opponent, has 4 MLAs, together with Mr. Rajbhar.

Strongman MLA Vijay Mishra, who had contested from Bhadohi on a ticket of the Nishad Party, a BJP ally, is in jail after he was booked underneath a number of prices by the federal government, which he has accused of persecuting him.

Three Independents, together with Kunda MLA Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya, Aman Mani Tripathi from Maharajganj and Vinod Saroj from Pratapgarh are anticipated to rally behind the BJP. The lone RLD MLA had joined the BJP earlier than the 2019 normal election.

Polling for the MLC election is scheduled on January 28.

You have reached your restrict at no cost articles this month.

Subscription Benefits Include

Today’s Paper

Find mobile-friendly model of articles from the day’s newspaper in a single easy-to-read record.

Unlimited Access

Enjoy studying as many articles as you would like with none limitations.

Personalised suggestions

A choose record of articles that match your pursuits and tastes.

Faster pages

Move easily between articles as our pages load immediately.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the newest updates, and managing your preferences.


We temporary you on the newest and most necessary developments, 3 times a day.

Support Quality Journalism.

*Our Digital Subscription plans don’t presently embody the e-paper, crossword and print.

Source hyperlink

Comment here