Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Nishaanth stars in Tamil Nadu win, Bengal beats Odisha

Share this:

Tamil Nadu rode on C.Hari Nishaanth’s unbeaten 92 to publish a 66-run win over Jharkhand in its opening match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 event on the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.

Asked to bat, Tamil Nadu scored a formidable 189 for 5 earlier than limiting Jharkhand to 123 for seven. Southpaw Nishaanth (92 n.o., 63b, 8×4, 3×6) batted confidently and executed some clear hits on each side. He cast a 72-run stand with fellow opener N. Jagadeesan to offer Tamil Nadu a powerful begin in opposition to an assault that lacked self-discipline.

Jagadeesan (27, 28b, 2×4, 1×6) gave good assist to Nishaanth earlier than being caught brilliantly by Rahul Shukla at long-on off Anukul Roy’s bowling. Nishaanth, who was let off twice off the bowling of left-arm spinner Anukul, stitched collectively one other vital partnership of 98 with captain Dinesh Karthik (46, 17b, 3×4, 4×6).

Karthik hammered Monu Kumar for six, 4, six and 6 in a row within the 18th over. He was run out within the final over bowled by Shukla, who dismissed two different batsmen.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Live Score: Tamil Nadu beats Jharkhand, Karnataka trumps J&Ok


Running out of steam

Jharkhand struggled in its reply as its batsmen performed some poor pictures within the Powerplay overs. Ishan Kishan edged Sandeep Warrier to Karthik, Utkarsh Singh chipped Sonu Yadav to square-leg, and Kumar Deobrat was caught at deep level off Warrier, as Jharkhand was diminished to 47 for 3 in six overs.

Virat Singh (23, 24b, 2×4) and Saurabh Tiwary (9, 18b) tried to consolidate for six overs however couldn’t obtain the specified end result as a consequence of Tamil Nadu’s well-planned bowling regardless of the retirement of Vijay Shankar owing to a leg harm.

Anand Singh’s unbeaten 24-ball 28 was additionally in useless. Medium-pacer Sonu removed Virat and Shahbaz Nadeem to assert three wickets on debut.

Brief scores:

Elite A (Bengaluru):

Karnataka 150/5 in 20 overs (Ok.L. Shrijith 48 n.o.) bt Jammu & Kashmir 107 in 18.Four overs (Abdul Samad 30, Prasidh Krishna 3/34).

Punjab 134/7 in 20 overs (Prabhsimran Singh 43, Anmolpreet Singh 35, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3/22) bt Uttar Pradesh 123/5 in 20 overs (Suresh
Raina 56 n.o.). 

Tripura 170/Three in 20 overs (Bishal Ghosh 36, Arkaprabha Sinha 31, Milind Kumar 61 n.o.) misplaced to Railways 173/Four in 19.Three overs (Mrunal
Devdhar 61 n.o., Karn Sharma 45, Harsh Tyagi 38 n.o., Sankar Paul 3/17).

Elite B (Kolkata):

Odisha 113 in 20 overs (Rajesh Dhuper 37, Ankit Yadav 32, Ishan Porel 4/26) misplaced to Bengal 114/1 in 12.2 overs (Vivek Singh 54 n.o., Suvankar Bal 34 n.o.).

Tamil Nadu 189/5 in 20 overs (C. Hari Nishaanth 92 n.o., Dinesh Karthik 46) bt Jharkhand 123/7 in 20 overs (Sonu Yadav 3/31).

Elite C (Vadodara):

Gujarat 157/eight in 20 overs (Axar Patel 30, Mukesh Choudhary 3/33) bt Maharashtra 128 in 19.Three overs (Naushad Shaikh 31, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Himachal 173/5 in 20 overs (Ravi Thakur 53, Ekant Sen 38 n.o., Vishal Kushwah 3/18) bt Chhattisgarh 141/eight in 20 overs (Amandeep Khare 87
n.o., Rishi Dhawan 3/29).

Baroda 168/7 in 20 overs (Krunal Pandya 76, Sanjay Patel  41, Akash Madhwal 3/16, Girish Rauturi 3/34) bt Uttarakhand 163/6 in 20 overs
(Dikshanshu Negi 77 n.o., Kunal Chandela 48).

Source hyperlink

Comment here