Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Vivek Singh slams ton as Bengal beats Jharkhand

Share this:

Vivek Singh’s maiden unbeaten 100 helped Bengal file a 16-run win over Jharkhand within the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 match on the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Tuesday.

Choosing to bat, Bengal registered 161 for six and restricted Jharkhand to 145 for 9 to earn its second victory. A assured Vivek took benefit of the Powerplay to show his trademark aggressive batting. The lanky southpaw, usually responsible of throwing his wicket away, carried his bat via whilst some reputed Bengal batsmen fell cheaply.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Live Score: Vivek Singh, Ishan Porel shine in Bengal’s win over Jharkhand


Vivek drove, minimize and pulled powerfully to maintain the Jharkhand bowlers below strain. The improvisation was a brand new side of Vivek’s audacious stroke play. He slammed 13 fours and three sixes to attain his hundred off 64 balls. The 27-year-old laid a superb basis by including 60 runs with fellow opener Shreevats Goswami (27, 28b, 3×4) after which 37 and 32 with Manoj Tiwary (12) and Shahbaz Ahmed (6) respectively.

Medium-pacer Monu Kumar, who captured three wickets, and Rahul Shukla, who obtained two, carried out effectively within the demise overs.

Cautious begin

Jharkhand had a cautious begin because it gathered 36 for one within the first six overs.

Captain Ishan Kishan (22, 25b, 2×4, 1×6) tried to speed up and was caught at deep mid-wicket off off-spinner Arnab Nandi’s bowling.

As Bengal bowlers intensified strain, Jharkhand misplaced a wicket apiece from 10th to 13th overs. Off-spinner Writtick Chatterjee claimed two of the wickets, together with that of Virat Singh (47, 35b, 4×4, 2×6), who performed some sensible drives to the fence.

Utkarsh Singh (28, 14b, 3×4, 2×6) and Anukul Roy (18, 16b, 1×6) batted courageously however couldn’t accomplish the duty attributable to Bengal bowlers’ disciplined efficiency. Ishan Porel took three wickets.

The scores:

At Eden Gardens: Bengal 161/6 in 20 overs (Vivek Singh 100 n.o., Monu Kumar 3/30) bt Jharkhand 145/9 in 20 overs (Virat Singh 47, Ishan Porel 3/34).

At Jadavpur University floor: Hyderabad 153/eight in 20 overs (Tilak Varma 44, Tanmay Agarwal 34, Suryakant Pradhan 3/34) bt Odisha 147/four in 20 overs (Govinda Poddar 50, Subhransu Senapati 43 n.o., Rajesh Dhuper 30 n.o.).

Source hyperlink

Comment here